Learn Astrology – Planets & Rulers

In our previous lesson, we learned that a certain zodiac sign naturally corresponds to each house, like so:

astrological houses and zodiac signs

If you do not know which sign naturally corresponds to each house, review this material and do the exercises until you can ace the quizzes. It’s important to know those fundamentals before moving on.

Planetary Rulers of the Zodiac Signs & Houses

Each of the astrological house/sign relationships (i.e. 1st house/Aries; 8th house/Scorpio; etc.)  is naturally ruled by a certain planet (yellow/red/pink below), which is referred to as it’s planetary ruler.  You can see the relationships in the graphic below:

Planetary Rulers - Zodiac Signs - Houses

Note that, in astrology, there are 12 house/sign relationships, yet only 10 planets (as of the time of this writing), so there are two planets (the red and pink ones above) which rule more than one house/sign.

You may not know all of the planetary glyph symbols, so let’s move on to learning the glyph symbols for the planets, and after that we’ll move on to committing the planetary rulership relationships to memory.

Next upNEXT UP

Learn Astrology – Glyph Symbols of the Planets